Leading the Way: PRSA Selects Nominees for 2016 Board of Directors

September 1, 2015

The PRSA Nominating Committee announced its selections for 2016 leadership positions on Aug. 4.

The committee, led by Mickey G. Nall, APR, Fellow PRSA, PRSA 2013 chair and CEO, selected nine candidates for open Executive Committee and Board of Director positions. The nominees will stand for election by a vote of the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Nov. 7, prior to the start of the International Conference in Atlanta on Nov. 8-10.

“The PRSA Nominating Committee was presented with an impressive group of applicants eager to serve on the 2016 Board of Directors,” Nall said. “We were excited to have such a large group of experienced PR practitioners and leaders to select from including, for the first time, non-APR applicants for select positions. We are confident that with the selected leadership nominees, the Society will have a bright and prosperous future.”

The nominees for 2016 officer positions are: chair-elect, Jane E. Dvorak, APR, Fellow PRSA, president at JKD & Company, Inc., Lakewood, Colo.; treasurer, Deborah A. Silverman, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA, associate professor of communication at SUNY Buffalo State, Buffalo, N.Y.; and secretary, Anthony W. D’Angelo, APR, Fellow PRSA, senior manager of communications at ITT Corporation, Seneca Falls, N.Y.

Additionally, the committee nominated six individuals for open positions on the PRSA Board of Directors:

Midwest District:

Joyce A. Lofstrom, APR, senior director of corporate communications at HIMSS, Chicago

North Pacific District:

Ronele M. Dotson, APR, president at RAD Strategies Inc., Reno, Nev.

Southeast District:

Amy T. Coward, APR, Fellow PRSA, vice president of public relations at Palmetto Health Foundation, Columbia, S.C.

Southwest District:

Sam James Morrey Sims, APR, director of public relations and marketing at US Fleet Tracking, Edmond, Okla.

Sunshine District:

Bonnie P. Upright, APR, senior vice president at Olympus Foundation Management, Orange Park, Fla.


Don Hale, vice president of public relations and marketing communications at Georgia State University, Atlanta

Candidates by petition

Article VII, Section 5 of the PRSA Bylaws states: “Nominations may also be made by petition by at least 10 Leadership Assembly delegates and filed with the secretary of the Society at the PRSA headquarters at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting (Nov. 7) of the Leadership Assembly. Immediately upon receipt of any such nominations, the secretary shall send a notice of such nominations to all members.”

The nominees, along with any petitioning candidates, will be presented at the Leadership Assembly on Nov. 7 for approval.


No comments have been submitted yet.

Post a Comment

Editor’s Note: Please limit your comments to the specific post. We reserve the right to omit any response that is not related to the article or that may be considered objectionable.


To help us ensure that you are a real human, please type the total number of circles that appear in the following images in the box below.

(image of seven circles) + (image of three circles) =



Digital Edition