Public Relations Tactics

PRSA announces 2013 leadership candidates

September 4, 2012

On July 30, the Nominating Committee, led by PRSA’s 2010 chair and CEO, Gary McCormick,  APR, Fellow PRSA, revealed the candidates for the Society’s leadership positions next year.

Candidates for officers’ positions are:

Chair-Elect:  Joseph E. Cohen, APR, senior vice president, MWW Group, New York
Treasurer: Blake D. Lewis, III, APR, Fellow PRSA, principal and senior consultant, Lewis Public Relations, Dallas
Secretary: Kathy Barbour,  APR, public affairs manager, Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville, Fla.

Nominees for board of directors’ positions are:

East Central District Representative: Sonja Popp-Stahly, APR, communications manager, Lilly Bio-Medicines, Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis
Mid-Atlantic District Representative: Felicia Walker Blow, APR, vice president for institutional advancement, Paul D. Camp Community College, Franklin,  Va.
Tri-State District Representative: Anita Ford Saunders,  APR, manager, communications, Yankee Gas, Berlin, Conn.
Western District Representative: Marisa  Vallbona,  APR, Fellow PRSA, president, CIM Incorporated, San Diego
Director-at-Large: Kelly J. Davis, APR, president and CEO, Davis Public Relations and Marketing, LLC, Columbia, S.C.
Director-at-Large: Susan Walton, APR, vice president for university and public affairs, University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, N.D.

The Leadership Assembly must now confirm each candidate by a majority vote at its annual meeting on Oct. 13, which coincides with the International Conference in San Francisco.

In addition to the Nominating Committee selections, you may also recommend someone — at least 10 Leadership Assembly delegates must sign your petition and you must file it with the Society’s secretary at PRSA’s headquarters at least 30 days prior to the annual Leadership Assembly meeting.

After receiving these types of nominations, the secretary will send a notice to all members.

Rounding out the roster of leaders are the incumbent members of the Board, including PRSA Chair and CEO Gerard F. Corbett,  APR, Fellow PRSA, CEO and founder, Redphlag LLC, San Bruno, Calif., and PRSA Chair- and CEO-elect Mickey G. Nall,  APR, Fellow PRSA, managing director, Ogilvy Public Relations Worldwide, Atlanta.

“I congratulate this passionate group of public relations professionals and salute their enthusiasm and willingness to serve our members and the industry,” said Corbett.


No comments have been submitted yet.

Post a Comment

Editor’s Note: Please limit your comments to the specific post. We reserve the right to omit any response that is not related to the article or that may be considered objectionable.


To help us ensure that you are a real human, please type the total number of circles that appear in the following images in the box below.

(image of four circles) + (image of nine circles) =