Public Relations Tactics

Debra D. Peterson, APR, Elected as PRSA's 2019 National Chair

November 1, 2017

Deb Peterson & Tony D'Angelo [albert chau]
Deb Peterson & Tony D'Angelo [albert chau]

PRSA’s Leadership Assembly voted on Oct. 7 to elect Debra D. Peterson, APR, as chair of the Society in 2019.

Peterson, APR, vice president, external communications and community relations, CenturyLink, New Century, Kan., will serve as PRSA’s 2018 chair-elect.

Those elected to fill the other open officer positions are:

They will join 2017 Chair-Elect Anthony W. D’Angelo, APR, Fellow PRSA, who becomes chair on Jan. 1, 2018, to form the 2018 Executive Committee along with 2018 Immediate Past Chair Jane Dvorak, APR, Fellow PRSA, and returning board members Rick Batyko, APR, Fellow PRSA, Robert Hastings, Jr., APR+M, Fellow PRSA, Jo Ann LeSage Nelson, APR, Andrew McCaskill, APR, Michelle Olson, APR, and Samantha Villegas, APR.

Assembly delegates elected several other candidates selected by the PRSA National Nominating Committee for two-year terms beginning in 2018.

District Representatives

  • Director, Midwest District: Kevin M. Waetke, APR, vice president, strategic communications, National Pork Board, Clive, Iowa
  • Director, North Pacific District: Michelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA, corporate communications director, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co., Anchorage, Alaska
  • Director, Southeast District: Amy T. Coward, APR, Fellow PRSA, vice president, public relations, Palmetto Health Foundation, Columbia, S.C.
  • Director, Southwest District: Robert Scott Pritchard, APR, Fellow PRSA, visiting professor and faculty adviser, Lindsey+Asp, University of Oklahoma, Blanchard, Okla.
  • Director, Sunshine District: Joseph Abreu, APR, communications manager, Clerk of the Circuit Court, St. Lucie County, Fort Pierce, Fla.
  • Director-At-Large: Scott Wesley Thornburg, PR specialist, Oracle, Redwood City, Calif.

“I am honored and excited to serve alongside this group of prestigious and talented leaders on the PRSA Board of Directors,” D’Angelo said in a statement. “They will bring a wealth of experience and insight to our national effort to advance the profession, and PRSA professionals, to new levels of success."


No comments have been submitted yet.

Post a Comment

Editor’s Note: Please limit your comments to the specific post. We reserve the right to omit any response that is not related to the article or that may be considered objectionable.


To help us ensure that you are a real human, please type the total number of circles that appear in the following images in the box below.

(image of six circles) + (image of eight circles) =



Digital Edition