Public Relations Tactics

PRSA Announces 2018 Board of Directors Nominees

September 5, 2017

Leadership Assembly '16 [albert chau]
Leadership Assembly '16 [albert chau]

PRSA has announced its officer and director nominees for its 2018 board of directors.

The nominees for 2018 officer positions are: Chair-Elect Debra D. Peterson, APR, vice president, external communications and community relations, CenturyLink, New Century, Kan.; treasurer, T. Garland Stansell, APR, chief communications officer, Children’s of Alabama, Birmingham, Ala.; and secretary, Ronele M. Dotson, APR, president, RAD Strategies Inc., Reno, Nev.

They will join 2017 Chair-Elect Anthony W. D’Angelo, APR, Fellow PRSA, who becomes Chair on Jan. 1 to form the 2018 Executive Committee along with 2018 Immediate Past-Chair Jane Dvorak, APR, Fellow PRSA.

In addition, the PRSA Nominating Committee, led by Kathy Barbour, APR, PRSA 2015 Chair, announced its selections for leadership positions for 2018. The nominees will stand for election by a vote of the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 7 prior to the start of the PRSA International Conference in Boston (Oct. 8-10).

“I am pleased and honored to announce this year’s nominations for the PRSA Board of Directors,” said Barbour. “I speak for the entire Nominating Committee in congratulating this select group of tremendously talented leaders who will undoubtedly help advance the Society and broader profession. I applaud them for their continued service to PRSA and our members.”

The six individuals who were nominated for the open director positions on the PRSA Board of Directors are:

Midwest District

Kevin M. Waetke, APR, vice president, strategic communications, National Pork Board, Clive, Iowa

North Pacific District

Michelle Egan, APR, Fellow PRSA, corporate communications director, Alyeska Pipeline Service Co., Anchorage, Alaska

Southeast District

Amy T. Coward, APR, Fellow PRSA, vice president, public relations, Palmetto Health Foundation, Columbia, S.C.

Southwest District

Robert Scott Pritchard, APR, Fellow PRSA, visiting professor and faculty
adviser, Lindsey+Asp, University of Oklahoma, Blanchard, Okla.

Sunshine District

Joseph Abreu, APR, communications manager, Clerk of the Circuit Court, St. Lucie County, Fort Pierce, Fla.


Scott Wesley Thornburg, PR specialist, Oracle, Redwood City, Calif.

Candidates by petition

Article VII, Section 5 of the PRSA Bylaws provides: Nominations may also be made by petition by at least 10 Leadership Assembly delegates and filed with the secretary of the Society at the PRSA Headquarters at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting (Oct. 7) of the Leadership Assembly. Immediately upon receipt of any such nominations, the secretary shall send a notice of such nominations to all members.

PRSA will present the nominees, along with any petitioning candidates, at the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 7 for approval.


No comments have been submitted yet.

Post a Comment

Editor’s Note: Please limit your comments to the specific post. We reserve the right to omit any response that is not related to the article or that may be considered objectionable.


To help us ensure that you are a real human, please type the total number of circles that appear in the following images in the box below.

(image of four circles) + (image of seven circles) =



Digital Edition