(Banner graphic of PRSA 2017 International Conference logo)

PRSA 2017 International Conference

The Spirit of Revolution: Communications in the 21st Century

Oct. 8–10 | Boston

Note: You are browsing information about a previous PRSA International Conference. Visit the program page for this year’ event.

Preliminary Standards for Internal Communication Measurement

Professional Development Workshops Set 4

The development of standards for measurement in public relations has been underway for several years. Be among the first to view the standards developed by an international task force of public relations practitioners and academics prior to formal publication.

Final Presentation

(Available to registered attendees only. Register now!)


Sean D. Williams, founder and CEO, Communication AMMO Inc.

Photo of Sean D. Williams

Sean Williams the founder and CEO of Communication AMMO Inc., which helps organizations plan and execute communications effectively and measure the results. His clients include Ketchum Change, EY, St. Anne’s Episcopal School, Colorado Rocky Mountain School, University Liggett School, Western Reserve Academy, and Innovative Devices. Williams also is an adjunct professor of public relations at Kent State University and a member of the Institute for PR's Measurement Commission. He is Past Chair (2014) and a current member of the executive board of the PRSA Employee Communication Section.



Michele E. Ewing, APR, Fellow PRSA, associate professor, Kent State University

Photo of Michele E. Ewing, APR, Fellow PRSA

Michele E. Ewing, APR, has more than 25 years of experience in agency and corporate public relations as well as public relations education. She’s developed expertise in leadership, health care, internal and integrated marketing communications. Ewing teaches courses in the undergraduate and graduate PR programs. In 2006, she developed the PR Online Tactics course as a first step to integrate Web and social media strategies and tactics into the PR curriculum. She advises the PRSSA Kent State Chapter which, under her direction, has won seven national PRSSA Teahan awards including 2006 Outstanding Faculty Adviser and 2014 Outstanding Chapter. Ewing was inducted into the PRSA College of Fellows in 2014 and was honored with the Greater Cleveland PRSA Chapter’s 2014 Davis Young Award for achievement in mentoring. Working with her colleagues, she has earned PRSA Silver, Bronze and regional awards for client work.


Stacey Smith, APR, Fellow PRSA, senior counsel and partner, Jackson Jackson & Wagner

Photo of Stacey Smith, APR, Fellow PRSA

Since joining Jackson Jackson & Wagner in 1981, Stacey Smith, APR, Fellow PRSA, has helped clients with her counseling expertise in crisis planning and problem solving, facilitation and training, developing public relations and marketing plans, and organizational dynamics and development. Smith has particular expertise in research, specifically in problem analysis and methodology design. She graduated from the University of Tennessee with a bachelor’s degree in communication and received a master’s degree in management, specializing in organization behavior, from Antioch New England Graduate School. She has also served as an instructor in public relations at both New England College and at Antioch New England Graduate School, and is a member of the International Public Relations Research Conference Advisory Board as well as PRSA Educators Academy and PRSA Employee Communications Section.


Julie O'Neil, Ph.D., associate professor and director of the Schieffer School graduate program, Texas Christian University

Photo of Julie O'Neil, Ph.D.

Julie O’Neil, Ph.D., teaches, researches and consults in the areas of public relations, measurement and evaluation, and corporate social responsibility. O’Neil serves on the Institute for Public Relations Measurement Commission, the editorial boards of the Public Relations Journal and The Research Journal of the Institute for Public Relations, the International Public Relations Research Advisory Committee and the PRSA National Research Committee.