Responsive Menu Clicked Image

Gold Anvil Award

The Gold Anvil is the Society’s highest Individual Award. It is considered to be PRSA’s lifetime achievement award and is presented to a public relations practitioner who is a PRSA member and whose accomplishments have made a major contribution to the profession.

Nomination Procedures
Complete the online nomination form, which will ask for the following information:

  • A two-page summary of the nominee's qualifications that addresses the judging criteria.
  • Three seconding letters that address the judging criteria. Note that one of the three seconding letters must be from the highest ranking officer of a unit of PRSA, such as a Chapter, Section or District.
  • The nominee’s professional bio.
  • A list of PRSA activities and awards. Include chapter, district, section, national service and offices held, and awards received from PRSA.
  • A list of other activities and awards. Include leadership positions held in organizations other than PRSA, and awards received.
  • The nominee’s headshot.

Judging Criteria
Gold Anvil Achievements: Detail the achievements of the nominee and demonstrate how these have advanced the profession of public relations and its positive visibility.

Application: Show how the nominee has used public relations concepts and techniques to successfully solve problems or make the most of opportunities.

Awards: List awards and other forms of recognition the nominee has received for public relations accomplishments.

Service to PRSA: Cite offices, committee assignments, and other examples of the nominee’s service to the Society.

Service to other organizations: Explain how the nominee’s involvement in professional and business organizations has advanced the profession of public relations and its visibility.

Judging Procedures:
All entries are reviewed and scored by PRSA’s Honors & Awards Committee according to the judging criteria and then approved by PRSA’s Board of Directors. The winner will be notified in late summer and invited to accept the award at PRSA’s International Conference.

NOTE: The nomination deadline is July 18, 2016.

To avoid a conflict of interest, the PRSA Chair is not eligible to receive an individual award during his or her term of office and for two years thereafter. Officers and members of the National PRSA Board of Directors and the National Honors & Awards Committee are not eligible to receive an Individual Award. 

Previous Recipients

2016 - Douglas Ann Newsom, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
2015 - E. Ronald Culp, Fellow PRSA
2014 - Frederick H. Cook, Fellow PRSA
2013 - Douglas K. Spong, APR, Fellow PRSA
2012 - Raymond L. Kotcher, Fellow PRSA
2011 - Cheryl Procter-Rogers, APR, Fellow PRSA
2010 - Judith T. Phair, APR, Fellow PRSA
2009 - Michael L. Herman, APR, Fellow PRSA
2008 - Joe S. Epley, APR, Fellow PRSA
2007 - Retired Brigadier General H. J. (Jerry) Dalton Jr., APR, Fellow PRSA
2006 - Dr. Debra A. Miller, APR, Fellow PRSA
2005 - Al Golin – Fellow PRSA
2004 - Thomas W. Hoog, Fellow PRSA
2003 - John D. Graham, APR, Fellow PRSA
2002 - Joseph A. Vecchione, APR, Fellow PRSA
2001 - Ofield Dukes, APR, Fellow PRSA
2000 - Thomas L. Harris, APR, Fellow PRSA
1999 - Daniel J. Edelman, APR, Fellow PRSA
1998 - John M. Reed, APR, Fellow PRSA
1997 - Edward Block, Fellow PRSA
1996 - Harland W. (Hal) Warner, APR, Fellow PRSA
1995 - Scott M. Cutlip, APR, Fellow PRSA
1994 - John L. Paluszek, APR, Fellow PRSA
1993 - Barbara Hunter, APR, Fellow PRSA
1992 - John W. Felton, APR, Fellow PRSA
1991 - John E. Sattler, APR
1990 - David Ferguson, APR, Fellow PRSA, Richard Weiner, APR, Fellow PRSA
1989 - Lawrence G. Foster, APR, Fellow PRSA
1988 - John F. Budd, Jr., APR, Fellow PRSA
1987 - Chester Burger, APR, Fellow PRSA
1986 - Patrick Jackson, APR, Fellow PRSA
1985 - Leone Baxter, APR, Fellow PRSA
1984 - Carl F. Hawver, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA
1983 - Donald B. McCammond, APR, Fellow PRSA
1982 - Frank W. Wylie, APR, Fellow PRSA
1981 - Allen H. Center, APR, Fellow PRSA
1980 - Harold Burson, APR, Fellow PRSA
1979 - Philip Lesly, APR, Fellow PRSA,  J. Handly Wright, APR, Fellow PRSA
1978 - James F. Fox, APR, Fellow PRSA
1977 - Betsy Ann Plank, APR, Fellow PRSA
1976 - Edward L. Bernays, APR, Fellow PRSA
1975 - J. Carroll Bateman, APR
1974 - Denny S. Griswold, APR, Fellow PRSA
  Dan J. Forrestal, APR, Fellow PRSA
1973 - George Hammond, APR, Fellow PRSA
1972 - Ralph E. Frede, APR, Fellow PRSA
1971 - No Award
1970 - Bert C. Gross
1969 - Rex F. Harlow, Ph.D., APR
1968 - Ward B. Stevenson, APR
1967 - Yves Jasmin
1966 - Kalman B. Druck, APR, Fellow PRSA
1965 - Lee K. Jaffe, APR, Fellow PRSA,  Robert E. Kingsley
1964 - Kenneth Youel, APR, Fellow PRSA
1963 - G. Edward Pendray, Harold Brayman
1962 - Earl Newsom
1961 - No Award
1960 - Carroll R. West, George M. Crowson
1959 - Hale Nelson, APR, Fellow PRSA, Conger Reynolds
1958 - Thomas J. Ross
1957 - Ed Lipscomb, APR, Fellow PRSA, John W. Hill, Richard S. Falk
1956 - No Award
1955 - Pendleton Dudley
1948 - W. Howard Chase, APR, Fellow PRSA